Vehicle Licensing Fees

Fees Effective July 1, 2017

Wyoming Statutes dictate the calculation of all registration fees. The licensing fees are the same for each county regardless of the county a vehicle is registered in.  However, the county that collects the fees keeps and distributes the money to the taxing entities in their county. Therefore, residents are encouraged to register vehicles in the county where they reside.

Vehicle registration fees consist of 2 parts; a county fee and a state fee.

County Fee


The County Fee tax is based on the factory price of the vehicle as listed on the Wyoming Title and is calculated using the following formula:

Factory Cost
X Year of Service Rate
X 0.03
=
County Fee


Factory Cost


Factory cost is not the blue book value, retail value, or the purchase price. The factory cost is the original cost placed on vehicle by the automobile factory. This can generally be found on your Wyoming Title; if you are calculating a renewal then the factory cost can be found on your previous year's Wyoming registration listed under the box:  Fact Price.

Year of Service Rate


The year of service rate, also known as the valuation percentage, is determined by how many years the vehicle has been registered for use.

Service Rates are:
Service
Rate
1st year
60%
2nd year
50%
3rd year
40%
4th year
30%
5th year
20%
6th year and after
15%

Example Calculation


A new vehicle having a factory cost of $20,000 could have a county fee of $360:

$ 20,000
X 60%
X 0.03
=
$360.00


State Fee


The State Fee is a fee levied by the State of Wyoming and is remitted to the Wyoming Department of Transportation each month. The fee depends on the vehicle type, as listed in table below.  Download complete Vehicle Registration Fee table here (PDF).
Vehicle Type
Fee
Passenger $30.00
Trucks & Trailers
$5.00 - $90.00
(determined by weight)
Motorcycles $25.00
Commercial
$198.00 - $1,430.00
(determined by weight)

Miscellaneous Fees


 Vehicle Type  Fee                                
 Electric $200.00**

** An annual decal which shall include the bucking horse and rider emblem for a plug-in registered and licensed electric vehicle as defined in W.S. 39-17-301(a)(xxxviii).  Effective July 1, 2019.

W.S. 39-17-301(a)(xxxviii) Definitions of an electric vehicle as follows: 
"Plug-in electric vehicle" means any motor vehicle which can be recharged from any external source of electricity, including a wall socket, and the electricity stored in the rechargeable battery drives or contributes to drive the wheels of the vehicle. "Plug-in electric vehicle" does not include a hybrid vehicle.